top of page
IMG_1623.JPG
IMG_1796.JPG

Adolf Loos expert

I have been involved with Adolf Loos for over 20 years and have thus matured into the Adolf Loos expert I never wanted to be. However, deepening my knowledge of his work has always led me to new discoveries, which are also helpful in my work as an architect. Adolf Loos was one of the greatest architects of the 20th century and he influenced it a lot with his buildings and writings. He often felt misunderstood by imitators or abused by others who reinterpreted or shortened his work for their ideology. For this reason, Loos never joined a movement and established his own architectural theory, which is based on not omitting, but consciously selecting, which does not deny tradition, but understands the present as a further development of the past. He was as enthusiastic about radically new inventions as he was about a centuries-old armchair, as long as it was comfortable. He was there for his clients and his clients for him. He was able to respond to the needs of his clients and thus lifelong friendships developed.

 

Activities

Extended New Edition of the Monograph Adolf Loos- Works and Projects by Ralf Bock   

27 Nov 2021

Just in time for Loos' 151st birthday, the extended edition of my Adolf Loos monograph has been published in English, which has meanwhile become a standard work. I am pleased that I was able to add further projects and new photos to the edition.

Now there are 333 pages. All photos as usual by Philippe Ruault! Here are a few glimpses into the book. 

IMG_8512.JPG

Organizer  Adolf Loos Symposium 2021 in the Federal Monuments Office VIENNA

16/17 June 2021

In 2021, I was  organising the Adolf Loos Symposium at the Federal Monuments Office. Together with colleagues from the Czech Republic and Austria, I was able to gather the family of Loos experts in Vienna. We listened to very interesting lectures on the restoration of Loos objects and were able to exchange ideas in expert discussions during excursions to Loos objects in Vienna. A big thank you to President Bazil of the Federal Monuments Office who made this symposium possible.

DSCF4548.JPG
web210607KatharinaSchiffl_2253.jpg

 LOOS 2021 -
VISIT PROGRAM OF LOOS BUILDINGS

2021

For the 150th birthday of Adolf Loos in 2020, I developed a tour program of apartments and buildings by Adolf Loos in Vienna in cooperation with Timo Riess from Architekturerbe Österreich. Due to the great demand, we have repeated and expanded the program for 2021. It was a lot of fun again. Thanks to Timo Riess and his team for the organizational support. 

 

ADOLF LOOS - BICYCLE TOURS HIETZING

2021

Together with Architekturerbe Österreich, we organized bike tours to the Loos villas in Hietzing in the summer. Popular with young and old, demand was high and feedback was very positive. We would like to thank the district office for the support.

web210607KatharinaSchiffl_2428.jpg

Ö1 

June 11, 2021

  The Ö1 journalist Anna Soucek broadcasts her contribution in Ö1 Leporello on the Adolf Loos walks and publishes excerpts from the interview with Gerhard Murauer (Vienna Library) and Ralf Bock, both of whom in 2021 three walks of the Adolf Loos Bauschule based on notes from Loos students.  Loos did the walks on the history of Vienna's urban architecture for his students. There he introduced you to historical Vienna comprehensively and with detailed knowledge and an expert eye. You could get to know Loos as a passionate Viennese who was informed in detail about the building history of his heart city.   The walks had to be repeated several times due to the high demand. Loos city tours are to take place again in 2022. Information on the club's website: https://www.architekturerbe.at 

Thanks to the Wien Bibliothek im Rathaus and Timo Riess from the Verein Architekturerbe Österreich for supporting this series

ADOLF LOOS - SYMPOSIUM BRNO / CZ

2021

 Lecturer at the Adolf Loos Symposium 151 in Brno on the housing development of Loos. Title of the lecture: "Adolf Loos - Sustainable in the 21st Century - Lone Warrior in the 20th Century". Management of the excursion in Vienna to the buildings of Adolf Loos. The event took place as part of the cross-border in cooperation with our Czech colleagues. 

DSCF1899.JPG

ORF2 - DOCUMENTATION  ADOLF LOOS 

2020

For Adolf Loos' 150th birthday, the ORF produced a 45-minute documentary about his life and work. The report was broadcast on ORF 2 shortly before his birthday at the end of November 2020 and repeated before the New Year's concert on January 1, 2021. I am pleased that I was able to present and explain some of Loos' projects.

Adolf-Loos-e22d7cd6714342df9f4bb1d82131b

21.-22.10.2020 Brno

Ralf Bock is invited to speak at the international symposium "Adolf Loos 150" in Brno and will report on the LOOS 2020 project.

July 17, 2020

The group of Loos experts from Austria accepted the invitation of the Czech curators of the exhibition "ADOLF LOOS -EUROPEAN ARCHITECT" at Spielberg Castle in Brno.

The newly restored Loos rooms in the Bauer Castle at the Brno Trade Fair could be visited together. An intensive exchange of information took place and further meetings were arranged. The Loos exhibition can be visited until 31.12.2020.

P7175077.JPG

12 Nov 2020, 7 p.m

Joint event by Loos 2020 and the Central Association of Austrian Architects. As part of the event series: "Talking about architecture"

Ralf Bock gives the lecture "Loos Revisited - A journey through the works of Adolf Loos".

_MGL0104.jpg
016-04.jpg

The owner of the Duschnitz house has commissioned Ralf Bock to draw up a private expert opinion on the documentation of the renovation that Adolf Loos carried out on the Duschnitz house. All Loos fixtures were also verified and documented.

Adolf Loos furnished and equipped the Emil Löwenbach apartment in 1913. It was considered lost for a long time as the house was hit by a bomb in WWII. Only recently he Loos interior was rediscovered. Today's tenant, Bridge Club Vienna, is very keen to preserve the existing furnishings. A high-quality restoration concept has now been agreed with the Federal Office for the Protection of Monuments. Ralf Bock has carried out the historical research here and will manage the restoration work together with the FOPM.

_MGL0314.jpg
018-05.jpg

This summer the municipality of Hrusovany was able to acquire the director's villa on the site of the sugar factory that Adolf Loos built for Viktor von Bauer in 1914.

Ralf Bock will advise colleagues in the Czech Republic who are working on the renovation and the new usage concept.

December 2020

The ORF is currently producing a new documentary on the work of Adolf Loos. Ralf Bock presents four Loos objects in Vienna and gave a long interview on the work of Adolf Loos. The shooting days were at the end of June 2020.

IMG_1780.JPG
Loos and Japan_inspirations_v1 Kopie.jpg

Kazuhiro Yajima has received a 12-month state scholarship from the Ministry of Culture in Japan. He decided to work with Ralf Bock to document and analyze the influence of Japanese culture in the work of Adolf Loos. Research begins in autumn 2020.

In 2018 Ralf Bock designed a complete exhibition concept together with Max Moya for a large public exhibition in the Albertina in Vienna. The exhibition was supposed to show the entire spectrum of his professional work and his private life. A new view of Loos should be possible. The title alone was intended to point out a misunderstanding: Loos gave the lecture: "Ornament and Crime", but this changed to "Ornament Is Crime" in the general usage of the 20th century.

RALF - EXTERIOR1-lowres.jpg
IMG_6561.HEIC

Wiener Moderne am Genfer See

 

 

Workshop der Universität UNIL Lausanne im Mai 2023.

Vortrag Ralf Bock:

Die Villa Karma - Adolf Loos erster Bauauftrag – Einordnung des Um- und Zubaus der "Villa Maladaire" in das Gesamtwerk von Loos 

Vermittlung des Werks von Adolf Loos

Partnerschaft mit dem Verein Architekturerbe Österreich. 

Folgende Führungen sind derzeit im Programm: 

Herrenmodesalon KNIZE

Wohnung Löwenbach / derzeit: Bridge Club Wien

Zu den Loos Führungen: 

IMG_5222.HEIC
bottom of page

IMG_1623.JPG
IMG_1796.JPG

Adolf Loos Experte

Seit über 20 Jahren beschäftige ich mich mit Adolf Loos und bin somit zu einem Adolf Loos Experten gereift, der ich nie sein wollte. Allerdings hat mich die Vertiefung in sein Werk immer wieder zu neuen Entdeckungen geführt, die mir auch bei meiner Arbeit als Architekt hilfreich sind. Adolf Loos war einer der größten Architekten des 20. Jhts und er hat es mit seinen Bauten und Schriften sehr beeinflußt. Oft fühlte er sich von Nachahmern missverstanden oder von anderen mißbraucht, die sein Werk für ihre Ideologie umdeuteten oder verkürzten. Daher hat sich Loos nie einer Bewegung angeschlossen und hat seinen eigene Architekturtheorie aufgestellt, die darauf beruht nicht wegzulassen, sondern bewußt auszuwählen, die die Tradition nicht leugnet , sondern die Gegenwart als Weiterentwicklung der Vergangenheit begreift. Er konnte sich für radikal neue Erfindungen genauso begeistern, wie für einen jahrhundertealten Sessel, solange er bequem war. Er war für seine Bauherrn da und seine Bauherrn für ihn. Er konnte genau auf die Bedürfnisse der Bauherrn eingehen und so entstanden lebenslange Freundschaften.

Aktivitäten

Erweiterte Neuauflage Monographie Adolf Loos- Works and Projects von Ralf Bock  erschienen 

27.Nov 2021

Rechtzeitig zu Loos 151. Geburtstag ist die erweiterte  Ausgabe meiner Adolf Loos Monographie in englisch erschienen, die mittlerweile zum Standardwerk gewordenen ist. Ich freue mich, dass ich die Ausgabe mit weiteren Projekten und neuen Foto ergänzen konnte.

Jetzt sind es 333 Seiten geworden. Alle Fotos wie gehabt von Philippe Ruault! Hier ein paar Blicke ins Buch. 

IMG_8512.JPG

Organisator  Adolf Loos Symposium 2021 im Bundesdenkmalamt WIEN

16/17. Juni 2021

Im Juni 2021 konnte ich das Adolf Loos Symposium im Bundesdenkmalamt organisieren. Mit Kollegen aus Tschechien und Österreich konnte ich die Familie der Loos - Experten in Wien versammeln. Wir hörten sehr interessante Vorträge über Restaurierungen von Loos Objekten und konnten uns bei Exkursionen zu Loos Objekten in Wien im Fachgespräch austauschen. Ein herzliches Dankeschön an Herr Präsident Bazil vom Bundesdenkmalamt der dieses Symposium ermöglichte.

DSCF4548.JPG
web210607KatharinaSchiffl_2253.jpg

 LOOS 2021 -
BESICHTIGUNGSPROGRAMM VON LOOS BAUWERKEN

2021

Zum 150. Geburtstag von Adolf Loos im Jahr 2020 entwickelte ich in Kooperation mit Timo Riess von Architekturerbe Österreich ein Besichtigungsprogramm von Wohnungen und Gebäuden von Adolf Loos in Wien. Auf Grund der großen Nachfrage haben wir das Programm 2021 wiederholt und erweitert. Es hat wieder sehr viel Spaß gemacht. Dank an Timo Riess und sein Team für die organisatorische Unterstützung. 

 

ADOLF LOOS - FAHRRADTOUREN HIETZING

2021

Gemeinsam mit Architekturerbe Österreich veranstalteten wir im Sommer die Fahrradtouren zu den Loos Villen in Hietzing. Beliebt bei Jung und Alt war die Nachfrage groß und das Feed Back sehr positiv. Wir bedanken uns beim Bezirksamt für die Unterstützung.

web210607KatharinaSchiffl_2428.jpg

Ö1 

11.Juni 2021

 Die Ö1 Journalistin Anna Soucek sendet ihren Beitrag in Ö1 Leporello zu den Adolf Loos Spaziergängen und veröffentlicht Auszüge aus dem Interview mit Gerhard Murauer ( Wien Bibliothek) und Ralf Bock, die beide im Jahr 2021 drei Spaziergänge der Adolf Loos Bauschule zusammengestellt haben auf Basis der Mitschriften von Loos Studenten.  Loos hat die Spaziergänge zur Stadt- Baugeschichte Wiens für seine Studenten gemacht. Dort hat er Sie umfassend und mit detailliertem Wissen und Kennerblick in das historische Wien eingeführt. Dabei konnten Sie Loos als leidenschaftlichen Wiener kennenlernen , der über die Baugeschichte seiner Herzensstadt detailgenau informiert war.  Die Spaziergänge mussten auf Grund der hohen Nachfrage mehrfach wiederholt werden. Auch im Jahr 2022 sollen wieder Loos Stadtführungen stattfinden. Informationen über die Seite des Vereins: https://www.architekturerbe.at 

Dank für die Unterstützung dieser Reihe an die Wien Bibliothek im Rathaus und Timo Riess vom Verein Architekturerbe Österreich

ADOLF LOOS - SYMPOSIUM BRÜNN / CZ

2021

 Vortragender auf dem Adolf Loos Symposium 151 in Brünn über den Siedlungsbau von Loos. Titel des Vortrags: "Adolf Loos – Sustainable in the 21st Century – Lone Warrior in the 20th Century". Leitung der Exkursion in Wien zu den Gebäuden von Adolf Loos. Die Veranstaltung fand im Rahmen der grenzüberschreitende in Kooperation mit unseren tschechischen Kollegen statt. 

DSCF1899.JPG

ORF 2 - DOKUMENTATION  ADOLF LOOS 

2020

Zum 150. Geburtstag von Adolf Loos produzierte der ORF eine 45 min Dokumentation über das Werk und Leben von ihm. Der Beitrag wurde kurz vor seinem Geburtstag Ende November 2020 im Kulturmontag auf ORF 2 ausgestrahlt und vor dem Neujahrskonzert am 1. Januar 2021 wiederholt. Ich freue mich , dass ich dabei einige der Projekte von Loos vorstellen und erläutern konnte.

Adolf-Loos-e22d7cd6714342df9f4bb1d82131b

Internationales Symposium: Adolf Loos 150

21.-22.10.2020 Brno

Ralf Bock ist als Vortragender beim Internationalen Symposium "Adolf Loos 150" in Brno eingeladen und wird über das Projekt LOOS 2020 berichten.

Expertentag "Adolf Loos in Brno"

17.Juli 2020

Die Gruppe von Loos Experten aus Österreich folgte der Einladung der tschechischen Kuratoren der Ausstellung "ADOLF LOOS -EUROPEAN ARCHITECT" auf Burg Spielberg in Brno.

Es konnten dabei  auch die neu restaurierten Loos Räume im Bauer Schloß auf der Messe Brno gemeinsam besichtigt werden. Es fand ein intensiver Austausch an Informationen statt und weitere Treffen wurden vereinbart. Die Loos Ausstellung ist noch bis 31.12.2020 zu besichtigen.

P7175077.JPG

Veranstaltung zum 150. Geburtstag von Adolf Loos

12.Nov. 2020, 19.00 Uhr

Gemeinsame Veranstaltung von Loos 2020 und Zentralvereinigung der ArchitektInnen Österreichs.

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe: "Sprechen über Architektur"

hält Ralf Bock den Vortrag " Loos Revisited - Eine Reise durch die Arbeiten von Adolf Loos". da 

_MGL0104.jpg
016-04.jpg

Gutachten zum Haus Duschnitz

Der Eigentümer des Haus Duschnitz hat Ralf Bock beauftragt ein Privatgutachten zu erstellen über  die Dokumentation des Umbaus den Adolf Loos an dem Haus  Duschnitz vorgenommen hat. Ebenfalls wurden alle erhaltenen Loos Einbauten  verifiziert und dokumentiert.

Renovierung und Rekonstruktion der Wohnung Emil Löwenbach von Adolf Loos

Die Wohnung Emil Löwenbach hat Adolf Loos im Jahr 1913 eingerichtet und ausgestattet. Sie galt lange als verschollen , da das Haus einen schweren Bombentreffer im II. Weltkrieg erhielt. Erst vor kurzem wurde das Interieur von Loos wiederentdeckt. Der heutige Mieter Bridge Club Wien ist sehr um die Erhaltung des vorhandenen Ausstattung bemüht. Nun konnte mit dem Bundesdenkmalamt ein hochwertiges Restaurierungskonzept vereinbart werden. Ralf Bock hat hier die historischen Recherchen erstellt und wird die Restaurierungsarbeiten gemeinsam mit dem BDA leiten.

_MGL0314.jpg
018-05.jpg

Sanierungs- und Nutzungskonzept Villa des Direktors in Hrusovany bei Brno von Adolf Loos

Die Gemeinde Hrusovany konnte diesen Sommer die Villa des Direktors auf dem Gelände der Zuckerfabrik erwerben, die Adolf Loos für Viktor von Bauer im Jahr 1914 errichtete. Ralf Bock wird die Kollegen in Tschechien, die mit der Sanierung und dem neuen Nutzungskonzept beschäftigt sind beraten.

Neue Adolf Loos Dokumention des ORF zum 150. Geburtstag

Dezember 2020

Der ORF produziert gerade eine neue Dokumentation zum Werk von Adolf Loos. Ralf Bock stellt dort vier Loos Objekte in Wien vor und gab ein langes Interview zum Werk von Adolf Loos. Drehtage waren im Ende Juni 2020.

IMG_1780.JPG
Loos and Japan_inspirations_v1 Kopie.jpg

Forschungsarbeit mit Kazuhiro Yajima über den Einfluß der japanischen Kultur im Werk von Loos

Kazuhiro Yajima hat ein 12 monatiger Staatsstipendium des Kulturministeriums in Japan erhalten. Er hat sich entschieden mit Ralf Bock den Einfluß der japanischen Kultur im Werk von Adolf Loos zu dokumentieren und zu analysieren. Beginn der Forschungsarbeit Herbst 2020.

Konzept zur Adolf Loos Ausstellung 2020 in der Albertina Wien

Im Jahr 2018 konzipierte Ralf Bock ein komplettes Ausstellungskonzept zusammen mit Max Moya für eine große Publikumsausstellung in der Albertina in Wien. Die Ausstellung sollte die gesamte Bandbreite seines beruflichen Schaffens und seines Privatlebens zeigen. Es sollte ein neuer Blick auf Loos möglich werden. Schon der Titel wollte ein Missverständnis aufzeigen: Loos hielt den Vortrag: "Ornament und Verbrechen", dieser ging aber im allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch des 20. Jahrhunderts in "Ornament ist Verbrechen" über.  

RALF - EXTERIOR1-lowres.jpg