RECENT PROJECTS

2017

A wooded hillside, isolated location in southern Burgenland, hardly any building regulations.  A place in nature was created for living.  Energy self-sufficient house. Natural course of the terrain used, oriented towards the sun and landscape views.  Basement partly in the ground with cool bedrooms in a dry hot climate zone. The living floor above is built in a wooden stand construction and cellulose insulation with a cantilevered veranda as natural protection against overheating in summer.

 

More information and images here

2017

Two houses for a family with three children in an allotment garden settlement in Vienna. Each house has 50 m2 built up area and 250 m3 enclosed space. Strict specifications. Compact design and slim wooden stand construction. A residential house and a sleeping house. On one side the common space on two levels, which is connected by a terrace on the opposite side with the private rooms. Courtyard formation as a privacy screen in the narrow and densely built-up area with small plots of land. Cooling and heating with geothermal energy by deep drilling, no consumption of fossil energy.

More information  and images here

2015

Vienna settlement area from the post-war years. Long narrow plots. Building area strictly limited, but nevertheless a great transformation process of the houses in the entire settlement. What to do when the neighbour suddenly transforms his terrace into a huge winter garden  and removes all protective greenery between the plots? What to do if the space requirements of the family increase due to growth? Family moves out or looks for possibilities to stay and live together?

 

More information and images here

2017

Neo-baroque palace of the Viennese Gründerzeit.  Used for two generations as a commercial enterprise on the ground floor with laboratory and offices in a small-scale structure. Exposure of the original room.  Bringing the darkness of the ground floor zone back to light. Cars banned from inner courtyard and garden designed by Piet Oudolf. Art brings light to people. Colour needs light.

More information and images here

THE ZERO BUDGET HOUSE

2018

A settler's house from 1924, built by the cooperative members themselves, with the simplest materials and all with their own hands. One helped the other until the settlement was finished. Simply built on stamped clay soil. Minimal floor plans with small animal stable and self-sufficient garden.

 

Today owned by the City of Vienna, which is not planning any redevelopment, as rents are still very low. The tenants would like to do the necessary renovation against rising humidity, install a bathroom, make the ground floor more open so that a common space with an open kitchen is created. Building envelope is not allowed to be changed. The bank does not give credit, because there is no ownership of the property. So they had to rebuild everything by themselves. A social experiment.

 

More information and images here

 

+43 6991 920 54 03

Prinz-Eugen-Straße 46
Vienna, 1040
Austria

© 2020 by Julius Grüner

AKTUELLE PROJEKTE

2017

Ein bewaldeter Hang, Einzellage im Südburgenland, kaum Bauschriften. Es wurde ein  Ort in der Natur zum Wohnen geschaffen.  Energie autarkes Haus. Natürlicher Geländeverlauf genutzt, nach Sonnenlauf und Landschaftsblicken ausgerichtet.  Sockelgeschoß in der Erde mit kühlen Schlafräumen in einer trocken heissen Klimazone. Wohngeschoß darüber in Holzständerbauweise und Zellulosedämmung mit auskragender umlaufender Veranda als natürlicher Schutz gegen sommerliche Überhitzung.

Mehr Informationen und Bilder hier

2017

Zwei Häuser für eine Familie mit drei Kindern in einer Wiener Kleingartensiedlung. Jeweils 50 m2 bebaute Fläche und 250 m3 umbauter Raum. Strenge Vorgaben. Kompakte Bauweise und schlanke Holzständerkonstruktion. Ein Wohnhaus und ein Schlafhaus. Auf der einen Seite ein gemeinsamer Raum auf zwei Ebenen, verbunden über eine Terrasse mit den auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite liegenden privaten Räumen. Hofbildung als Sichtschutz in dem eng  und dicht  bebauten Gebiet mit kleinen Grundstücksparzellen. Kühlen und Heizen mit Erdwärme durch Tiefbohrungen, kein Verbrauch von fossiler Energie.

Mehr Informationen und Bilder hier

2015

Wiener Siedlungsgebiet aus den Nachkriegsjahren. Lange schmale Grundstücke. Bebaubare Fläche streng eingeschränkt und trotzdem großer Transformationprozeß der Häuser in der gesamten Siedlung. Was tun wenn der Nachbar plötzlich seine Terrasse zu einem riesigen Wintergarten umbaut und alles schützende Grün zwischen den Grundstücken entfernt? Was tun, wenn der Platzbedarf der Familie durch Zuwachs steigt? Alle ausziehen oder nach Möglichkeiten suchen zusammen zu leben?

Mehr Informationen und Bilder hier

2017

Neobarock Palais der Wiener Gründerzeit.  Über zwei Generationen als Gewerbebetrieb im EG mit Labor und Büros in kleinteiliger Struktur genutzt. Freilegen des ursprünglichen Raumes.  Die Dunkelheit der Erdgeschoßzone wieder ans Licht führen. Innenhof von Autos befreit und Garten von Piet Oudolf  angelegt. Kunst bringt Licht zu den Menschen. Farbe braucht Licht.

Mehr Informationen und Bilder hier

THE ZERO BUDGET HOUSE

2018

Eine Siedlerhaus aus dem Jahr 1924, selbstgebaut von den Genossenschaftsmitgliedern, mit einfachsten Mitteln und alles mit Eigenleistungen. Einer half dem anderen bis die Siedlung fertig war. Einfach auf gestampften Lehmboden errichtet. Minimale Grundrisse mit Kleintierstall und Selbstversorgergarten.

Heute im Besitz der Stadt Wien, die keine Sanierung plant, da Mieten noch sehr gering. Die Mieter möchten die notwendige Sanierung gegen aufsteigende Feuchtigkeit machen, ein Bad einbauen, das Erdgeschoss offener gestalten, damit ein Gemeinschaftsraum mit Küche entsteht.  Aussen darf nicht verändert werden. Die Bank gibt keinen Kredit, da kein Eigentum. Also alles in Eigenleistung wieder errichten. Ein soziales Experiment.


Mehr Informationen und Bilder

 

+43 6991 920 54 03

Prinz-Eugen-Straße 46
Wien, 1040
Österreich

© 2020 by Julius Grüner